Super Bowl
Today is the super bowl... so I'll be talking about sports. I won't be watching the sensationalized ad-fest that is occurring this evening. I'll be watching the puppy bowl. It is vastly superior television.
When I was a small child, I said to my parents, "If the good guys think that they are the good guys, and the bad guys think that they are the good guys, then who are the good guys?" A few days ago I realized how well this is depicted by sports competition. The giants want to win this game. The patriots want to win this game. The fans of the two teams want their team to win the game. Only one will win, and so half the people involved will lose. I'd like to think that the players understand that it is just a game, but sportsmanship is not what it used to be. I'd be surprised if no fights occurred regarding the outcome of this game. Personally, I've never understood how anyone can side with any particular team. Perhaps its because I've spent my life traveling, and whenever you are in a new area... people demand that you support their team. I pretend to... as that is the best way to gain favor with them, but picking a team is hebetudinous. I've "supported" a variety of teams as I've lived with roommates that are die-hard fans. Now I work in an area where almost everyone I see is wearing a giants logo. My boss even gave me time off to watch the game under the assumption that I am a giants fan.
So, think of sports as an analogy. Each team is an army. Each fan base makes up the citizens of the country they protect. Why do the fans support the team when they know that it will only cause fighting? The US is starting to realize this, and thus our army is losing support.
Basically, I hate pretending to like sports. I care not for who is playing, because every game is the same. Two teams face off, and one of them wins. The fact that I will actually get a sour reaction from a sports fan that I tell this to is what makes me dislike the sports system. If you want to watch the game, feel free. If you assume that I too want to watch the game and hear all about it when I obviously haven't been paying attention to the sports world, then you need to start doing some serious self examination.
Plus, for anyone that is too ignorant to realize it, sports is just another form of entertainment meant to waste your time and money. If you don't believe me, watch the super bowl tonight... and I mean watch. Think too. Think about how much money has been sunk into the halftime show, the ads, the holographic bullshit they use to communicate with other idiots that don't have any useful skills. And think about how much money is being given to every person involved... and how much money the massive crowd gave to be there. And lastly, think about the reason that they are willing to put so much money in: Because you and far too many other people are watching this game, giving it the most valuable ad space I know of.
Or, join me and watch the puppy bowl. Because cute puppies are far more entertaining to watch than a bunch of muscular men in extremely tight clothes tackling each other to gain possession of the illusive ball as they try to move it 100 yards in opposite directions. Real impressive.
puppieeeeeeeeeeees :D
ReplyDeleteHeck yes. If i'll be watching a bunch of living things run around on a field chasing a ball... they're gonna be puppies.
Delete